Skip to content

Sem-Turtle: Catching Our Breath

October 25, 2012

No class this week at Seminary — according to the syllabus, it’s a “Reading Week.” But what this week really is for most of us first-year students is:

P-A-N-I-C ! ! !

Our first paper is due at the end of the week. Granted, it is just a 1,000 word reflection paper, but it is still the first real writing assignment we are responsible for and there is a general feeling of nervousness and anxiety about it.

I have been blessed to be part of a study group this week. Six of us gathered in a work room in the Sem Library to discuss the assignment and share thoughts and insights. What was more valuable for me was hearing other people’s stories. Each of the other students I met has an amazing sotry for their journey to seminary. I am inspired by them and grateful for their willingness to include me.

So what is the paper about? It is a reflection paper on what we have been discussing in our Hermeneutics course. This is a course on the philosophical and theological underpinnings for the process of interpreting the texts of Scripture.

Questions to consider include the following:

  • Should the Bible be read “like any other book”?

  • Which is more appropriate for biblical interpretation – General Hermeneutics or Special Hermeneutics?

  • Where is the locus of meaning in biblical interpretation – author intent, the text itself, the reader, the canon, the church, or other?

  • What is/are the appropriate method(s) to use in biblical interpretation – historical, literary, philosophical, or theological?

  • What is the appropriate object of biblical interpretation – propositional truth claims or phronesis?

So what do you think?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. ethan cook permalink
    November 18, 2012 10:38 pm

    🙂 great questions. I just found this blog of yours after taking our quiz. Yes I am a fellow student with you that just started as well. I googled ‘”whose community” epistomology as I was googling after the quiz to see how well I may or may not have responded to one of the quiz questions. We should get together sometime and chat.

    • dmonk permalink*
      November 26, 2012 8:57 am

      Hey, Ethan!

      Sorry I didn’t see your comment earlier. Work and school have kept me so busy that I haven’t stopped by here in a while. I will look for you at class tonight!

      + D-Monk

Leave a Reply

