Skip to content

I Offer My Brokenness

October 1, 2012

Why is spiritual community so rare? I suspect it has to do with the requirement of brokenness. We’d much rather be impressively intact than broken. But only broken people share spiritual community. … It is our weakness, not our competence, that moves others; our sorrows, not our blessings, that break down the barriers of fear and shame that keep us apart; our admitted failures, not our paraded successes, that bind us together in hope.

+ Larry Crabb, The Safest Place on Earth (1999).

Heavenly Father,

As I approach my time in Seminary, I ask you to remind me of my brokenness. May I learn from others and serve others out of the strength of my weaknesses. In all that I say and do, may it be You who is glorified!

+ D-Monk

One Comment leave one →
  1. October 13, 2012 1:22 pm

    that quote sums up so much of my life right now. thanks for sharing

Leave a Reply

