Skip to content

Distracted or Busy?

April 11, 2011

A TURTLE’S DAY

I look back at this weekend and feel like it was a busy weekend, but maybe I was just distracted.

I came into the weekend with a couple of projects to work on – flooring in the basement and some health care expenses to sort out for reporting purposes. I didn’t want to work on either of these projects and somehow they didn’t get done. Imagine that!

But my weekend WAS busy. Friday afternoon I left the office early to go watch the F-16s fly over Target Field for the Twins home opener. Then I drove up to Monticello to pick up my son, Paul, for a weekend visit. Friday night I watched the game with Beth since I didn’t have a chance to watch it live.

On Saturday, I took Emma to dance in the morning. Then I had rehearsal for the Sound of Music in the afternoon (I am playing trombone in the orchestra). Saturday evening was quiet and would have been the time to do some work on one of the projects – but I didn’t.

On Sunday morning we went to church and the Beth an I made a run to Home Depot to get e flooring for the basement. Then I drove with Paul back up to Monticello to watch Gretchen play in a volleyball tournament.

What a weird day Sunday was. It was hot and muggy in the morning. We hit 70 degrees for the first time this year. When Paul and I left to drive the 30 miles or so to Monticello, it was 77 degrees. By the time we got to Monticello, it had dropped to 67. At the end of the volleyball tournament it was 57. And by bed time it had dropped to 47.

Gretchen had a great tournament. Her team finished in third place and she served really well. I started calling her the Gretchenator and referred to her serves as G-bombs!

While I was at the tournament with Paul, Emma went outside with Beth and rode her bike for the first time.  Go, Emma!!!

Sunday evening I went running. It was in the mid-50’s and felt great! The dogs and I romped for a little over 4 miles. I am going to try to run again today. If successful, this will be the first time I have run two days in a row since my knee surgery in December. Keep your fingers crossed!

One Comment leave one →
  1. April 11, 2011 11:09 pm

    Another excellent post thanks for sharing! I enjoy reading your blog very much. Spending time with my family is something I love to do. Feel free to stop by Easy Lifestyles sometime. We would love to see you there

Leave a Reply

