Skip to content

A Quiet Weekend

April 4, 2011

A TURTLE’S DAY

It was a quiet weekend here in Turtle Town. Friday night I stayed home to watch the Twins in their season opener. I wish I hadn’t.

On Saturday we took an excursion to the pet store. The Chatty Chatty Princess got it into her head that she wanted a pet snail. Her plan was to head down the hill to the “orange park” where there is a little stream that she has gotten snails from before. Te problem with this plan is that we still have snow and ice here in Minnesota. And although the stream was flowing, there are no snails yet. So I took her to the pet store to see if we could find a snail.

The only snails they had at the pet store were saltwater snails. There is no way I am setting up a saltwater tank just for some snails. So we did the next best thing – we came home with a beta fish. She picked out a purplish beta, named it Daphne, and we have left the snails behind.

Saturday was a nice day and would have been a good day to go for a run. But instead I was indoors playing music. I am helping a local theater group out and playing trombone in the orchestra for their production of the Sound of Music. I haven’t played at all in two years and I was really hoping nobody would notice. I think I fooled them (at least for a day).

Sunday was more of a family day. We went to church in the morning and hen decided to head out to Como Park to see the spring flower show in the conservatory. We also visited the tropics area of the zoo and were amazed to find that the sloth was on the move! I have never seen the sloth move before. It drew quite a crowd as it slowly (ever so slowly) made its way to the bottom of the tree. One of the zoo keepers came over and whisked it away. Quite a sight!

We also went over to see the polar bear exhibit and then we wrapped the day up with a visit to Cold Stone Creamery for some ice cream.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

