Skip to content

Happy Feet

August 22, 2010

Saturday: 3.1 miles

The feet are happy, but my knee is sad.  I have been struggling with a sore right knee for some time now.  For the past several months, my knee has been stiff and has given me pain off and on when walking.  But it never really bothered me when I was running.

Last week, the pain really diminished for walking.  I started to think that my knee was finally healing.  But when I went out for a run, I experienced a lot of pain in my knee and had to abort my run.

Drag city!

I have been doing some soul searching (and some sole questioning).  Is it the shoes (I recently changed from Nike to Saucony)?  Am I too old? What if I have to give up running?

Running is my only exercise and I will blow up like the Stay-Puff Marshmallow Man if I can’t get out and run.  There’s got to be something I can do (and please don’t say go to the doctor — my wife is already on top of that one).

Yesterday, in a sense of desperation, I wore my Teva sandals for running instead of running shoes.  The run went well, but I don’t know if this is a good idea long-term.  On the other hand, some people run barefoot.

What should I do???

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

